The Blood on My Hands: An Autobiography

This is quite a heart rending story, yet engrossing at the same time. I was drawn in right away with Shannon’s (a pseudonym) account, basically staying up and reading it cover to cover. It’s just so different and so shocking all at once, and you worry about what happens to her and her family. I read a book not long ago about BTK’s daughter, who also grew up as a serial killer’s daughter, but this is just so much worse than her story even. This man was abusing and mentally torturing his own family when his children were growing up in Australia. There was also domestic abuse, and that’s just for starters. There is much worse he does, but I won’t go into all of that. You can read the book and learn that on your own. It’s unlike any other true crime story I’ve read to say the least, and traumatizing to all involved.

I would more suggest this for the experienced true crime biography reader, as it is a serious story. It could be more challenging for those who are newer to the genre, being quite a heavy subject matter, but it’s up to your discretion. I liked the way the story was related, some parts are rather subtle, and you may not pick up on the true meaning until a bit later, then it becomes clear. My thanks for a copy from the author and publisher for review.

29059340._SY475_

 

Paperback
CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Publication: Feb 3rd, 2016
RATING: 5/5 Stars

 
The Author–  The child of a serial killer, Shannon O’Leary revisits her traumatic past in her memoir, The Blood on My Hands.

“I used pseudonyms in the book order to protect my family. He was never charged despite the police knowing about his activity. The police investigations were case files and are not available to the public. People outside Australia would not be aware that many of the missing person files in NSW in the 1960s and 70s disappeared under one of the governments of the time (there are only about 6 files for the 1960s),” says O’Leary.

 

https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-blood-on-my-hands-colin-mackenzie/1131483647?ean=9781519695871

 

 

4 thoughts on “Book Review ~ The Blood on My Hands

  1. This was a review request that I’m so thrilled I got! I may never have found this amazing set of books otherwise. I’m reading the sequel now that came out in March, and will be reviewing it soon. I’ve been so lucky with books from other countries the last couple of years. I just love it.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.